Mount Uniacke, Part 6 to the Life & Works of
Richard John Uniacke
It was in 1786 that Uniacke received a grant for a thousand acres on the Windsor Road. There he built his home during the years 1813-15.16 In 1819, Uniacke added to his property by receiving another grant for 4,000 acres.
Mount Uniacke included a large family home, a number of barns, a coach house, guest house, wash house, baths, privy, hot house, caretaker's house and an ice house. Certain of these establishments can yet be seen today. It is part of the Uniacke Estate Museum Park, one of the many tourist attractions in Nova Scotia.
Lord Dalhousie wrote of Mount Uniacke in 1817, a place at which he regularly stopped on the way to his second residence at Windsor.
"Mount Uniacke, situated on the margin of a fine Lake [Martha's Lake] & surrounded by the wood wilderness mixed up with great granite rocks, is very gentlemanlike, & may in time be a pretty place, but at present has little to recommend it, except the new comfortable house and the cordial hospitality of it Proprietor."17
Another contemporary description written by Bishop Edmund Burke (1753-1820):
"We arrived very late ... Madam Uniacke and Lady Mitchell, her step-daughter, received us with as much courtesy as these English ladies, stiff and starched as they usually are, can show ... this immense and costly house, with its innumerable dependencies, bath rooms, billiard rooms, balconies, servants quarters, well kept groves on the borders of a large, and rather deep lake, the waters of which are carried to the sea by several small streams; nothing that could render this place charming has been neglected."18
Or, GO TO
TABLE OF CONTENTS.
[History Jump Page]
Found this material Helpful?